Review: The Guild’s Judgement by Wyrd Games

Top Comic

Miniature: The Guild’s Judgement
Manufacturer: Wyrd Games
Price: $45.00
Material: Plastic

This may be a little strange, but first I want to talk about glue. For as long as I can remember I’ve always used liquid cement for plastic models and superglue for everything else. I’ve never had a reason for this, it’s just a thing that I did without thinking about it. So, with this project I decided to try them both on Wyrd’s plastic miniatures and see which one worked best.

    Parts List:

  1. Lady Justice
  2. The Judge
  3. Scales of Justice
  4. Death Marshall (x3)
  5. DM Alternate Head (x3)

It probably won’t come as a surprise to anyone, but the liquid cement worked much better. The superglue worked fine in most cases, but when it came to tiny pieces, and this kit has quite a few of them, the superglue was just too hard to work with. Having to hold everything together for at least 30 seconds for the adhesive to harden gets tough when working with tiny pieces. The liquid cement took a lot less time and just worked better overall.

So now I have a reason for why I do what I do when it comes to the right adhesive for the job.
The last time I reviewed a Wyrd product was several years ago. I remember the details being very good, the construction being a bit tricky, and the plastic snapping when it was extremely thing. Armed with this past knowledge I dove in to see if anything had changed in the Malifaux 2e set “The Guild’s Judgement.”

The first complaint I have with this set is the instruction sheet. It really needs to be at least twice its current size. It’s just so tiny.

Each model in the kit is constructed from multiple pieces. Instead of writing out an insanely long parts list, I’ve condensed it to the characters that can be constructed and the major alternates available (just human heads for the Death Marshalls).

The people at Wyrd are very talented at created highly dynamic characters. Every miniature in this kit has its own sense of movement and flow. The consequence of this high level of dynamism is the number of pieces required to assemble the character. This is where Wyrd’s excellent sense of engineering comes into play as these characters were very quick to assemble, even with the increased parts count.

Quite a lot of the pieces have well designed notches or tabs that allow them to slot together in a strong connection. Those that don’t generally have an edge of detail or some other visual trick that allows for quick placement. The only part that I struggled to assemble was attaching the coffin to the back of one of the Death Marshalls. I’m still not sure of the exact placement and will probably just eyeball it when I’m ready to affix it permanently.

3Lady Justice is an interesting character who blends an asian theme with the old west in an interesting way. While the flow of her hair is overly dramatized, she has a very interesting pose. A big note for her is that the gun on her back needs to be slotted in place before attaching her scabbard, otherwise the gun is really hard to put in place. I also ran into trouble with her sword blade. The connection point is very small leading to a droop on my version that I’ll have to fix.

2The Judge is the simplest figure in this kit to assemble. His action pose is probably one of the weaker ones in the box, but he still looks quite good. It took me a couple of minutes before I realized he’s wearing goggles, as the bandanna over his face is so high all you can see between it and his hat are the bulging goggles.

The Scales of Justice is a very interesting figure. Between the Hannibal mask, the crucifixion, and the multiple impalements this guy looks like he’s had the worst day ever. The majority of his assembly is very easy, but the 2 small chain sections that connect his neck to the broken cross are very small and challenging to place.

1The 2 piece design of the duster skirt is easy to assemble, but leaves behind a very noticeable gap. On the front the sculpt hides this because it’s supposed to be a split in the fabric. I believe that is the intention on the back of the skirt as well, but the extreme wave to the fabric makes that hard to accept. Personally I would gap fill the back at least to make it look better.

4I’m honestly impressed with the Death Wardens in this box. The fact that this company made each of them completely unique in their pose is laudable. A lot of other companies would give you maybe a couple of very minor options, but here each one, while consisting of the same major elements, are arranged in vastly different ways.

These guys are the most dynamic of all the poses, which means they’re in more parts. They each have a selection between a human head and a skull engulfed in ghostly flames. I chose the flames.

5While their construction is more complex I didn’t have many issues at all. The biggest one i encountered was that the end of the bayonet on their pistols liked to bend due to how insanely thing that area of plastic is. I have to give Wyrd a lot of credit here, though. As I stated earlier their older products would have snapped in this situation, so I consider this bending an improvement.

The Guild’s Judgement was a box of quick and fun to build miniatures. The detail level is quite good, the sculpts have a very interesting concept, and the poses are very active. Definitely a recommendation from me on this kit.
Bottom Comic

Author: CreganTur

I'm an aspiring writer who has been toiling at his craft for many years in hopes of becoming a published author. I'm also an avid painter of miniature figures and am in the process of creating my own miniatures company.

1 thought on “Review: The Guild’s Judgement by Wyrd Games”

  1. Nice review. I’ve only purchased and assembled the Masters of the Path boxed set and damn near lost a few pieces, but the models themselves are wonderful once together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

